Aidan Wilson (fullysic) on language loss and more.

Aidan Wilson from Fullysic blog wrote this article for the ABCs The Drum. In it he discusses the passing of his Grandmother, one of the few remaining fluent speakers of Tradational Tiwi and the wider implications of language loss for all of humanity. Related to this is the false dichotomy that English and Indigenous languages are mutually exclusive, a dichotomy apparent in the NT Government’s bilingual education policy. You can follow Aidan on twitter at @aidanbwilson.
Just a mild warning, I made it through about 1/3 of the comments on the article before I gave up. Too emotionally loaded for me today.

-Annie

This entry was posted in Bilingual Education, Identity, Language Endangerment, Language Maintenance, Language Work, Traditional Knowledges. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aidan Wilson (fullysic) on language loss and more.

  1. Jangari says:

    Thanks for sharing this Annie.

    The comments were completely bizarre. I was going to respond to them but them I reread the article and decided that they just misunderstood what I wad saying. I’m not saying that all aboriginal children should be forced to learn moribund languages at the science of English, but rather, as you point out, that it’s a false dichotomy to think that they have top choose one over the other and that we should simply remove the fictitious barriers to people being able to maintain their own languages if that’s indeed what they want, which, contrary to the claims off many people in the comments, it is.

    • No worries. Some of the comments I read went against what I hear regularly from a wide variety of Indigenous people, linguists and educators. I might try reading all of the comments later on, but found it very hard to understand the point some people were trying to get to, and the urge to reply was great, despite some of the nonsensical arguments that I read. I guess that is just part of publishing on a high view rate site like the ABC.

  2. Aidan Wilson says:

    I should also point out that she was my grandmother within the classificatory system in which everyone is slotted into the infinite family. She is no relation to me in the western sense.

    • I understood that, but wasn’t sure how to word it (and was in a bit of a hurry to get to NAIDOC event!). For me, my extended kin relationships are just as real as the relationships I have with my blood/marriage Western family so I just left it at Grandmother. Thanks for pointing it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

