Kriol – Waltjim bat Matilda

Michele:
Nick suggested in the Week 9 podcast that we try to locate some spoken Kriol.
This song will be familiar to all us Aussies and it demonstrates well that Kriol is an English-lexified creole, NOT a variety of English.

Click to see the website where I found the song clip. (It has the words written out.)
Enjoy!
Post script 6th October: Unfortunately, I have just noticed that Lara has already posted this, much earlier way back on 24th August. Oh well, for those like me who missed it…

This entry was posted in LING466 Blog Posts, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kriol – Waltjim bat Matilda

  1. kmacken2 says:

    I remember watching this being sung on a doco on the ABC and loving it! I could never find any info on it so YAY for posting this! I’m going to ask if I can have permission to teach it to a choir here in Coffs.
    kirsten

Leave a Reply

